Diabetic Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe


A few weeks ago I asked my grandmother what she wanted for Christmas. As she is this blogs’ number one fan she immediately said she wanted some of my Procrastination Chocolate Chip Cookies…now it would be simple enough to whip up some of those delights but she is diabetic…and I WILL NOT be responsible for her insulin levels spiking and all the ensuing issues that are sure to happen. 
So set with this challenge of finding Diabetic chocolate chip cookies I scoured the Internet. I found many recipes…some of them were elaborate and some of them had ingredients that just made me nervous. I eventually found a recipe entitled “The Best Diabetic Chocolate Chip cookies” I scanned the recipe and it seemed pretty true to a normal chocolate chip cookie recipe…I made a few ingredient adjustments…like substituting dark chocolate chips for the suggested semi-sweet chips because there is about 2 grams less sugar per serving. 

Now that I have baked the cookies using this recipe I have something to say about it.  This recipe will NOT fool any non-diabetic people. Both my father and my brother before even asking what the cookies were grabbed one and bit into it expecting a regular chocolate chip cookie…they were both confused and scandalized…I then had to explain that they did not have the normal 3 – 4 cups of sugar as regular cookies have. Despite their lack of sugar, I do have to say that they are pretty good and they will definitely satisfy a diabetic sweet tooth and the poor diabetic at the table will no longer have to sit out of dessert or be loudly denied when they ask for a large piece of sugary cake. 

I am posting this recipe the day before Christmas to give my grandmother the thrill of knowing that she will be able to have dessert this Christmas. 
________________________________________________

Ingredients
3 tbs Stevia Powder (If you have individual packets it is about 4 packets to 1 tbs)
1/2 Cup softened unsalted Butter
2 Cups White Flour
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
Pinch of Salt
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
2/3 Cup Fat Free Sour Cream
12 oz. Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions
Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and set aside a baking sheet.

Mix the dry ingredients: Flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and stevia powder. Set aside.

Mix the eggs, vanilla extract, and butter.

Combine dry ingredients with the eggs and vanilla extract.

Mix together with sour cream and chocolate chips.

Make smaller flatter dough balls as they will not spread out as regular cookies will.

Bake for 8-10 minutes.

Allow to cool before eating.

_________________________________



 
Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and set aside a baking sheet.
 
 Mix the dry ingredients: Flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and stevia powder.
 Mix the eggs, vanilla extract, and butter.
 Mix together with sour cream and chocolate chips.

 Bake for 8-10 minutes

Make smaller flatter dough balls as they will not spread out as regular cookies will.
2 comments

Leave a Reply

