Friday Fashion DIY: Shoulder-less Blouse

Hello and welcome to the very first installment of Friday Fashion DIY!!
Woohoooo!!! Today’s DIY is a silk shirt re-fashion. 
There are all kinds of shoulder less shirts out on the market for outrageous prices…but over here at Coffee+Velvet we are cheap and crafty so we came up with this super simple DIY to save you lots of money and keep you looking fabulous!
The look and the finished product.
I am wearing:
My DIY Shirt, Some DIY Thrifted Shorts, New Bowery Boots by Ecote from Urban Outfitters Online, Faux Agate Necklace from New Yorker , Peacock Earrings from Pennys in Dublin
 
You will need:
an old shirt 
(I prefer silk or something as equally light because it is summer and if I make it I want to wear it right away!!)
fabric scissors
matching thread
tailors chalk
sewing machine with a rolled hem foot (not pictured)
[Now you don’t need a rolled hem foot, you could iron the edges and sew very carefully but I found that the foot was easier.]
 
Step 1: Mark where you want the holes to start. I marked 1 inch away from the neck because I like more of a tank top look. I also marked on my dress form which made life easier but if you do not have a form you can always put it on and mark on one side where you want the holes to start and then measure it out for the other side to make it even.
Step 2: Figure out where you want the holes to end. The wider the cut the drapier the sleeves will be.
Step 3: Figure out how deep you want your holes to be….this is completely arbitrary and there was no real science when I cam up with my hole measurements…mark it out and try on the shirt a few times to see what tickles your fancy.
Step 4: Carefully cut out the circles.
Step 5: With your Rolled Hem Foot sew the raw edges of your holes.
Some tips for the rolled hem foot:
1. IRON your future seams before your attempt to use the foot…I promise you will save yourself a lot of heartache.
2. I found it was best to pull the fabric at an angle to the left of the foot so that it would stay in the rolling piece at the front of the foot.
Step 6: Wear your new shirt out and be fabulous!

Let me know if you liked this tutorial!
(leave a comment, follow me, or like my facebook page….for example!!)

If you use this tutorial to make your own shoulder-less blouse then please please please share it with me! I would love to see what you come up with!!!

9 comments

  1. Megan

    I love this! I don't have a sewing machine, so the edges will be frayed for a while. But I don't think I'll mind that.Very awesome!

  2. Suicidal Kitty

    I usually don't like this style but love yours, planning a trip to thrift store tomarrow to wear to a concert on Wedsday night. Cross ur fingers for me to find one as cute as urs

  3. Pingback: Style: 5 Pairs of Wildly Impractical Shoes | Mint Gypsy

Leave a Reply

