DIY (belated) Food Friday: Super Simple Pesto.

der/das Pesto (noun): Pesto.
_____________________________
I love pesto but I don’t love the price of a tiny little jar. I have had this Pesto recipe tucked away in the bowls of my internet bookmarks so I decided to pull it out, dust it off, and bring you a DIY Food Friday (on a Sunday).
For this recipe you will need:
2 cups of fresh Basil
1/3 cup of Walnuts (or Pine Nuts)
1/3 cup of Asagio Cheese
2 to 3 Garlic Cloves (I LOVE garlic)
1/3 of a cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to taste
Food Processer
This recipe will make about a cup of pesto.
 
Step 1: Grate your walnuts for a finer consistency.

Step 2: Add your Basil and pulse a few times.
Step 3: Add your minced garlic. My pesto came out SUPER garlicky so add your preferred amount.
 
Step 4: If your processor allows you to add oil while it processes slowly add the oil, if not add about half of the oil, pulse, and then add the rest.
(Side Note: You may have noticed that my processor changed…it was at this exact step I discovered that my processor cup had sprung a leak and olive oil was EVERYWHERE.)
 
Step 6: Add your cheese, salt, and pepper. Pulse to your desired consistency.
Step 6: Put it on EVERYTHING and never pay for pesto again.
(My pesto looks a bit thin because I could have used more Basil so I upped it in the ingredients list.)
Leave a Reply

