DIY: Velvet Shoelaces.

Cover

This project came to me on a whim because I could only find one of the black shoelaces for my “Foc Fartins” (fake Doc Martins) and I have an excess of velvet scraps.

DSC_7320Edit

For this project you will need:

2 strips of velvet cut on the bias (the stretchiest direction of the fabric)

duct tape

about 15 minutes

My strips were about 26 inches long and about 2 inches wide…but you can make them as long as you like but I wouldn’t suggest a thinner width than 1 1/2 inches for the velvet because the thinner it is the quicker it will fray down to velvet dust. Also, the thicker width will allow the velvet to fold under itself so there is no sewing necessary. woohoo!

DSC_7328Edit

Step 1. Make sure the ends of the velvet are cut straight across.

Step 2. Rip a piece of duct tape for the aglets (the ends of the shoelaces…you learn something new everyday!)
I actually ripped my duct tape square into two thinner strips because I wanted thinner aglets.

DSC_7349Edit

Step 3. Roll up the ends of your velvet as tight as you can and wrap the duct tape around the end.
I only used half of the strip because I did not want the aglets to be big fatties. You will have to eye it depending on how large your grommets (shoelace holes…see you are still learning) are.

DSC_7355Edit

Step 4. Wrap the other side.

DSC_7360Edit

Step 5. Lace yours shoes back up.
(The velvet is black but for some reason whenever I photograph velvet close up it confuses the camera.)

IMG_5131Edit

Step 6. Admire your handiwork.

One comment

Leave a Reply

