DIY: Test Tube Vases

Today I have a very simple houseplant project using Heartleaf Philodendron cuttings and test tube shot glasses.

Supplies

For this simple windowsill test tube vase project you will need:

Philodendron Cuttings
I am using Heartleaf Philodendron.

Test Tube Shot Glasses

Rooting Powder

You will need to cut small enough cuttings off of your plant in order to stick out to your desired length. When you have cut the stems scrape off a small section of the tip and dampen with water. Dip the damp stem into the rooting powder and drop into the test tubes and fill with water. Refill the water as needed.

TTC 1

I’m going to be honest, I bought these test tubes on sale at Urban Outfitters with the intention of doing something like this, I wish it was because I had some crazy mad scientist party planned but alas I did not, I am just obsessed with propagating philodendron.

ttc2

I love Philodendron for two reasons; the first being that it is very hardy, it really just needs some sunlight and water (added bonus it tells you when it needs water by getting droopy). The second reason is that propagates well, if you have two or three plants you will have unlimited cuttings because it grows super fast and gets real leggy.

ttc3

TTC 4

ttc5

I’ve had these little guys in their tubes for a few weeks now and they are happy as clams (if clams were plant cuttings living in water and sun).

What simple houseplant projects are making your home bright?

One comment

  1. Pingback: Snapshots: My Patio Garden | Mint Gypsy

Leave a Reply

