Organized Neatly: 5 Pairs of Wildly Impractical Shoes

I am going to start this post off with admitting a fact about myself…it’s not super scandalous or outrageous but it has forced my hand into buying some crazy things.

— I love impractical shoes —

Whew, it feels good to say out loud…or in text rather. I love impractical shoes not because I go out a lot and I need to dress to impress, I merely love the shape and the idea of them, honestly I almost never go out (and I’m not ashamed of that) but even if I did go out I would have to be invited to an awards show or be Lady Gaga to make these shoes make sense. Admittedly, I have worn all of these shoes at least once (and maybe twice) so the money was well worth it and it proved that I did in fact need them, obviously.

IMG_2474

I am writing this post not to shame myself, or promise that I’m going to put an end to this impractical love (because let’s be honest…I NEED more crazy shoes…..ammiright???) I am writing this post to give these poor beautiful shoes, which have been relegated to the “display” section of my closet, a chance to see the light of day and to receive the love that they deserve.
IMG_2492

These guys *might* be the most practical mostly because they are easy to walk in and they are simple enough to be acceptable….but measuring in with a six inch heel “practical” may not be the best descriptor.

IMG_2488

I actually find these to be my most practical because I’ve worn them the most, they are easy to walk and they look pretty cool, I like the little rhino horn. I wore them in this outfit post.

IMG_2497

I love these shoes and when I wore them in this post I had a blogger actually offer to buy them from me (I politely declined), the reason I deem them impractical is the wooden sole, I HATE the sound of wood soles clacking…I am not a little Dutch girl wearing wooden shoes…..I’m a person testing the ankle breaking gods.

IMG_2485

These shoes demonstrate my desire to be Lady Gaga, her heel-less shoes were all I could think about for a hot minute (it made studying in my last year of college very difficult). Yes, these are Jeffrey Campbell knockoffs but there was no way I was paying such high prices for such highly impractical shoes.
In case you are wondering, you do not teeter backwards when you wear these…they are quite stable.

IMG_2503

These guys right here are the pièce de résistance of my impractical shoe collection. These are REAL Jeffrey Campbell Damsel Gold Spike Shoes…I found them at a consignment store in almost new condition (in which they remain because they are absolutely insane) and I paid a fraction of a fraction of the price….I was seriously having heart palpitations when I was waiting in line to buy them. The heel on these guys is almost 7 inches tall and if that isn’t enough impracticality for you the spikes are actually SUPER sharp AND they weigh about 4 pounds each. I have worn these once…to dinner on my birthday…and I had to sit the whole time. I love them but my ankles are deathly afraid of them.

If you have made it this far I thank you for reading my crazy love letter to my crazy shoes, I feel they have received the credit they deserve and now I will put them back into my closet, look upon them every time I reach for flats and wish that I had the fashion life of Lady Gaga.

Leave a Reply

